FCC votes to restore net neutrality protections

There is the Federal Communications Commission voted restore net neutrality protection It was thrown out during the Trump administration. As expectedthe vote fell along party lines, with three Democratic commissioners voting in favor and two Republicans on the panel voting against the measure.

With net neutrality rules, broadband service is considered an essential communications resource under Title II of the Communications Act of 1934. This allows the FCC to regulate broadband in a similar way to water, power, and telephone services. This includes giving the agency oversight of outages and the security of broadband networks. One of the Republican commissioners, Brendan Carr, called this measure an “illegal power grab.”

According to net neutrality rules, internet service providers must treat broadband internet usage the same way. Users should be provided with access to all content, websites and applications at the same speed and under the same conditions. ISPs cannot block or prioritize certain content – ​​they are not allowed to restrict access to specific sites or charge streaming services for faster service.

The FCC passed net neutrality protections in 2015 under the Obama administration. But they were broke When President Donald Trump is in office. President Joe Biden in 2021 signed the order to roll back the Obama-era rules, but the FCC was unable to do so for a long time. Until Anna Gomez, the commission was deadlocked with two Democrats and two Republican votes he swore as the third Democratic commissioner on the panel last September. The FCC then acted relatively quickly (at least in terms of The speed of the FCC) to restore net neutrality protections.

The issue may not be completely resolved. There may still be legal challenges from the telecommunications industry. Still, the fact that the FCC voted in favor of net neutrality is a victory defends open and fair internet.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *