Netflix will stream the Mark Twain Prize honoring Kevin Hart on May 11

is the new broadcasting home of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor as part of a multi-year deal. This year’s award goes to Kevin Hart for his “extraordinary contributions to the genre and impressive achievements in comedy, film and television.” Celebrities like Dave Chappelle, Jimmy Fallon, Tiffany Haddish, Regina Hall, Chelsea Handler, Nelly, Chris Rock and Jerry Seinfeld are set to pay tribute to Hart (and maybe roast him a little) at the ceremony. For what it’s worth, Hart With Netflix in 2021.

The Mark Twain Award is in its 25th year and is perhaps one of the most prestigious comedy awards in the United States. It is given to “those who have influenced American society, such as Samuel Clemens, also known as Mark Twain, a prominent 19th-century novelist and essayist.” the press release notes. Previous recipients include Richard Pryor, Whoopi Goldberg, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Carol Burnett, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray, David Letterman, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Jon Stewart and Adam Sandler.

The ceremony will take place on March 24 at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall in Washington. You’ll be able to catch it when it hits Netflix on May 11. It’s time for the Netflix One Joke Festival, a series of stand-up shows taking place in Los Angeles. stream on the platform. Netflix has a rich history and at this point, so it seems like a natural fit for the Mark Twain Award, which previously aired on Comedy Central, PBS and CNN.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *